Regulation Department

The Regulation Department is responsible for economic regulation of electricity, technical advice in the licensing process of electricity and petroleum, monitoring licensee’s compliance to the license conditions as well as monitoring the electricity and petroleum sectors’ compliance to the Electricity Act of 2007 and Petroleum Act of 2020. The Department is structured into four sub-units namely; Technical Regulation- Electricity, Economic Regulation – Electricity, Compliance and Monitoring - Electricity and Petroleum - Oil and Gas.

Petroleum-Oil and Gas Function: This unit is responsible for the licensing of downstream activities with license conditions including wholesale, retail, commercial consumers, distribution and storage of Petrol, Diesel, and Paraffin, Liquefied Petroleum Gas (LPG), Blending, Natural Gas and Petrochemical licences; as well as the monitoring of compliance to the licensing conditions, and inspection of petroleum facilities.